Refine Results
Memoir
View Preview
The graphic novel collaboration and true story of two sisters. Anaële, a writer, leaves for Palestine volunteering in an aid program, swinging between her Palestinian friends and her Israeli friends. Delphine is an artist, left behind in Liège, Belgium. From their different sides of the world, they exchange letters. Green Almonds: Letters from Palestine is a personal look into a complex reality, through the prism of the experience of a young woman writing letters to her sister about her feelings and adventures in the occupied territories. Green Almonds is an intimate story with big implications. A young woman discovers a country, works there, makes friends, lives a love story, and is confronted with the plight of the Palestinians, the violence on a daily basis that we see on our screens and read in our newspapers. Anaële's story is brought to life by Delphine's simple and evocative drawings, which give full force to the subject and evoke the complexity of this conflict, creating a journey to the everyday life of Palestinians. Green Almonds: Letters from Palestine received the Doctors Without Borders Award for best travel diary highlighting the living conditions of populations in precarious situations when it was published in France in 2011.
→ more
View Preview
The story of one of America's most notorious killers is revealed in this true-crime comic unlike any other! Throughout the 1980s, the highest priority of Seattle-area police was the apprehension of the Green River Killer, the man responsible for the murders of dozens of women. In 1990, with the body count numbering at least forty-eight, the case was put in the hands of a single detective, Tom Jensen. After twenty years, when the killer was finally captured with the help of DNA technology, Jensen spent 180 days interviewing Gary Leon Ridgway in an effort to learn his most closely held secrets - an epic confrontation with evil that proved as disturbing and surreal as can be imagined. Written by Jensen's own son, acclaimed entertainment writer Jeff Jensen, Green River Killer: A True Detective Story presents the ultimate insider's account of America's most prolific serial killer. * Combines a historic manhunt with a compelling family story! * Written by Entertainment Weekly's Jeff Jensen! * The ultimate true crime graphic novel! * For fans of From Hell and Torso.
→ more
View Preview
Clay animated superstar Gumby has made an indelible impact on our culture and continues to enchant and entertain generations. Filmmaker Art Clokey’s personal story is one of mystical adventure, tragedy, triumph, art, and most of all, love. This lavish career-spanning retrospective explores the legendary creator’s life and complete works. All of his many creations, including Gumby and Davey & Goliath, are interwoven with a rich tapestry of rare photos and stories — the ingredients for a fascinating tale.
→ more
View Preview
Kobane Calling is the autobiographical memoir of a young Italian cartoonist, writing and drawing under the nom de plume Zerocalcare, who volunteers with the Rojava Calling organization and heads into the Middle East to support and observe the Kurdish resistance in Syria as they struggle against the advancing forces of the Islamic State. He winds up in the small town of Mesher, near the Turkish-Syrian border as a journalist and aid worker, and from there he travels into Ayn al-Arab, a majority-Kurd town in the Rojava region of Syria. As he receives an education into the war from the Kurdish perspective, he meets the women fighting in the all-female Kurdish volunteer army (the Yekeineyen Parastina Jin, or Women's Defense Units), struggling to simultaneously fight off the Islamic State even as they take strides for Kurdish independence and attempt a restructuring of traditional patriarchal Kurdish society. In a story and style at once humorous and heartbreaking, Zerocalcare presents clear-eyed reportage of the fight against the Islamic State from the front lines.
→ more
View Preview
A semiautobiographical comic by Ethan Young, the acclaimed writer and artist of Nanjing: The Burning City and The Battles of Bridget Lee graphic novel series In this blend of autobiography and fantasy, a cartoonist records his life in New York City: his job, his creative career, his friends, his herd of cats, and a runaway comic strip come to life! Ethan's life as one of the many cartoonists living in NYC might look mundane at first glance--living with his parents, working a day job, playing with cats. But things get crazy when he starts to draw his comic strip Crusader Cat! Soon, Ethan can't tell the difference between real life and the comic panel!
→ more
View Preview
Like most kids, Katie was a picky eater. She'd sit at the table in silent protest, hide uneaten toast in her bedroom, listen to parental threats she'd have to eat it for breakfast. But in any life, a set of circumstances can collide, and normal behavior can soon shade into something sinister, something deadly. Lighter Than My Shadow is a hand-drawn story of struggle and recovery, a trip into the black heart of a taboo illness, an exposure of those who are so weak they prey on the weak, and an inspiration to anybody who believes in the human power to endure, and to eventually find happiness.
→ more
View Preview
This DIGITAL-ONLY book collects several hundred of Kochalka's best little paintings from the last few years. Kochalka began making the little paintings as something to sell to fans at conventions, but they quickly became a consuming obsession that led to several incredibly successful gallery shows at Giant Robot. Dozens and dozens of cute kitties and fuzzy creatures dominate the book, but as with all Kochalka's work, a deeper theme flows through the undercurrents... in this case it's contemporary America's emotional plight following the harrowing events of 9/11. Ultimately, Little Paintings is a celebration of the triumph of imagination over the harsh realities of the physical world. Very beautiful.
→ more
View Preview
A special tribute edition of the cult classic comic book series created by the iconic Adam West. Fans of the Batman '66 program will love this series. The Man, The Myth, The Amulet? Legendary star of the small and silver screen, ADAM WEST has had his career youth-enized in this hip, whimsical, trans-dimensional epic of an adventure. When a mysterious fan delivers an exotic amulet to Mr. West’s doorstep, he is Dorothy-fied on an odyssey that will change his career, his love life, and inadvertently make him the man that saves the universe! All 16 issues are included as well as a bunch of never before seen images from the West series. Also included is the never before seen defunct "Boy Wonder" spin-off. Included as well is a look into the another spin-off off series featuring the women who played Catwoman, Julie Newmar and Eartha Kitt. Over 475 pages of camp fun with a special cover by Hal Laren.
→ more
View Preview
Moebius draws himself encountering his favorite characters--creations like Blueberry, Arzak, and Major Grubert--and also meets a younger version of himself! Working closely with Moebius Production in France, Dark Horse presents Inside Moebius, A six-part study with Inside Moebius Part 1 collecting the first two chapters in this fantastic exploration of a creator meeting his own creations. Dark Horse will release all parts to this exceptional, intimate series in 2018! This is the third volume in the Moebius Library hardcover series and the beginning of Moebius's most intensely personal project.
→ more
View Preview
Actively exploring his storytelling methods within his own mind, Moebius draws himself encountering his favorite characters in an expansive desert setting. He interacts with Arzak, Blueberry, Stel, Atan, and others--and he also meets a younger version of himself! A self-reflective six-part study, Inside Moebius Part 2 collects the two middle chapters in this hilariously unique exploration of a creator meeting his own creations and over-analyzing his thought processes as he creates new comics. Dark Horse will release all parts to this intensely personal series in 2018!
→ more
21 - 30 of 44 results