Refine Results
Memoir
View Preview
Over 200 full-color pages highlight the magnificent career of artistic legend George Perez! From his early days at Marvel on such titles as Fantastic Four and The Avengers to DC Comics' landmark titles, New Teen Titans and Crisis on Infinite Earths, plus independent work for T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents and so many others, along with his own creations.
→ more
View Preview
The graphic novel collaboration and true story of two sisters. Anaële, a writer, leaves for Palestine volunteering in an aid program, swinging between her Palestinian friends and her Israeli friends. Delphine is an artist, left behind in Liège, Belgium. From their different sides of the world, they exchange letters. Green Almonds: Letters from Palestine is a personal look into a complex reality, through the prism of the experience of a young woman writing letters to her sister about her feelings and adventures in the occupied territories. Green Almonds is an intimate story with big implications. A young woman discovers a country, works there, makes friends, lives a love story, and is confronted with the plight of the Palestinians, the violence on a daily basis that we see on our screens and read in our newspapers. Anaële's story is brought to life by Delphine's simple and evocative drawings, which give full force to the subject and evoke the complexity of this conflict, creating a journey to the everyday life of Palestinians. Green Almonds: Letters from Palestine received the Doctors Without Borders Award for best travel diary highlighting the living conditions of populations in precarious situations when it was published in France in 2011.
→ more
View Preview
The story of one of America's most notorious killers is revealed in this true-crime comic unlike any other! Throughout the 1980s, the highest priority of Seattle-area police was the apprehension of the Green River Killer, the man responsible for the murders of dozens of women. In 1990, with the body count numbering at least forty-eight, the case was put in the hands of a single detective, Tom Jensen. After twenty years, when the killer was finally captured with the help of DNA technology, Jensen spent 180 days interviewing Gary Leon Ridgway in an effort to learn his most closely held secrets - an epic confrontation with evil that proved as disturbing and surreal as can be imagined. Written by Jensen's own son, acclaimed entertainment writer Jeff Jensen, Green River Killer: A True Detective Story presents the ultimate insider's account of America's most prolific serial killer. * Combines a historic manhunt with a compelling family story! * Written by Entertainment Weekly's Jeff Jensen! * The ultimate true crime graphic novel! * For fans of From Hell and Torso.
→ more
View Preview
Clay animated superstar Gumby has made an indelible impact on our culture and continues to enchant and entertain generations. Filmmaker Art Clokey’s personal story is one of mystical adventure, tragedy, triumph, art, and most of all, love. This lavish career-spanning retrospective explores the legendary creator’s life and complete works. All of his many creations, including Gumby and Davey & Goliath, are interwoven with a rich tapestry of rare photos and stories — the ingredients for a fascinating tale.
→ more
View Preview
A horrific take on the true story of the Winchester haunted house and one woman's mission to wash away the blood curse of the Winchester rifle from claiming her own life and soul. Collects six issue run of House of Penance in a deluxe, oversized format with a new cover, sketchbook extras, and more... This is a tale about guilt, ghosts, and guns...of how fortune brings misfortune, as a grim and determined woman oversees the construction of a house twenty four hours a day for twenty years with the simple motto of keep busy building or get busy dying
→ more
View Preview
The true tale of Irena Sendlerowa, a social worker in the Warsaw ghetto in the early 1940s, during the early days of German occupation. She is credited for saving the lives of 2500 Jewish children by gradually and quietly smuggling them to safety in small groups. While she is eventually arrested by Gestapo, imprisoned, and tortured for her actions, she refuses to reveal her network and is condemned to death.  She is ultimately saved from death by other members of her organization.  After the war, she retrieved the names of all children she saved (kept in a glass jar buried under a tree behind her house) and attempted to locate each of their parents for reunion. And while most of the parents had been gassed in the Holocaust, she made it her mission to help those orphans find new homes.   Another true SCHINDLER'S LIST scenario, illustrated for a younger audience, but equally moving for adults.  
→ more
View Preview
Kobane Calling is the autobiographical memoir of a young Italian cartoonist, writing and drawing under the nom de plume Zerocalcare, who volunteers with the Rojava Calling organization and heads into the Middle East to support and observe the Kurdish resistance in Syria as they struggle against the advancing forces of the Islamic State. He winds up in the small town of Mesher, near the Turkish-Syrian border as a journalist and aid worker, and from there he travels into Ayn al-Arab, a majority-Kurd town in the Rojava region of Syria. As he receives an education into the war from the Kurdish perspective, he meets the women fighting in the all-female Kurdish volunteer army (the Yekeineyen Parastina Jin, or Women's Defense Units), struggling to simultaneously fight off the Islamic State even as they take strides for Kurdish independence and attempt a restructuring of traditional patriarchal Kurdish society. In a story and style at once humorous and heartbreaking, Zerocalcare presents clear-eyed reportage of the fight against the Islamic State from the front lines.
→ more
View Preview
A semiautobiographical comic by Ethan Young, the acclaimed writer and artist of Nanjing: The Burning City and The Battles of Bridget Lee graphic novel series In this blend of autobiography and fantasy, a cartoonist records his life in New York City: his job, his creative career, his friends, his herd of cats, and a runaway comic strip come to life! Ethan's life as one of the many cartoonists living in NYC might look mundane at first glance--living with his parents, working a day job, playing with cats. But things get crazy when he starts to draw his comic strip Crusader Cat! Soon, Ethan can't tell the difference between real life and the comic panel!
→ more
View Preview
Like most kids, Katie was a picky eater. She'd sit at the table in silent protest, hide uneaten toast in her bedroom, listen to parental threats she'd have to eat it for breakfast. But in any life, a set of circumstances can collide, and normal behavior can soon shade into something sinister, something deadly. Lighter Than My Shadow is a hand-drawn story of struggle and recovery, a trip into the black heart of a taboo illness, an exposure of those who are so weak they prey on the weak, and an inspiration to anybody who believes in the human power to endure, and to eventually find happiness.
→ more
View Preview
This DIGITAL-ONLY book collects several hundred of Kochalka's best little paintings from the last few years. Kochalka began making the little paintings as something to sell to fans at conventions, but they quickly became a consuming obsession that led to several incredibly successful gallery shows at Giant Robot. Dozens and dozens of cute kitties and fuzzy creatures dominate the book, but as with all Kochalka's work, a deeper theme flows through the undercurrents... in this case it's contemporary America's emotional plight following the harrowing events of 9/11. Ultimately, Little Paintings is a celebration of the triumph of imagination over the harsh realities of the physical world. Very beautiful.
→ more
21 - 30 of 48 results